Klopp Bans 10 Liverpool Stars, Including Nunez, from Touching Iconic ‘This Is Anfield’ Sign

In a break from tradition, Jurgen Klopp has enforced a ban on ten Liverpool players, including the likes of Darwin Nunez, Cody Gakpo, and Stefan Bajcetic, from touching the iconic ‘This is Anfield’ sign. This revered tradition, dating back 50 years to Bill Shankly’s era, has been halted by Klopp since 2016, citing that players should only touch it after winning a trophy.

The decision stems from Klopp’s belief in the sign as a symbol of respect, and he had previously remarked, “I’ve told my players not to touch the ‘This Is Anfield’ sign until they win something!” With Liverpool’s last trophy coming in the 2022 FA Cup final, those who haven’t clinched a title since are subject to the ban.

Notable names like Darwin Nunez, who joined post-FA Cup victory, and recent additions such as Cody Gakpo, Stefan Bajcetic, Alexis Mac Allister, Dominik Szoboszlai, Wataru Endo, Ryan Gravenberch, and Ben Doak, find themselves on the restricted list. Academy graduates Jarell Quansah and Conor Bradley complete the lineup of players forbidden from partaking in the pre-game ritual.

The upcoming Carabao Cup final clash against Chelsea on February 25 presents an opportunity for these players to break the ban and etch their names in Liverpool’s trophy-winning history. Klopp’s unconventional decision adds an intriguing layer to the team’s pre-match rituals and has become a talking point as the squad aims to secure silverware and revive the tradition that once symbolized the essence of Anfield.